Monday, September 20, 2010

Jimi Hendrix - West Coast Seattle Boy.
Legacy Recordings and Experience Hendrix LLC are proud to announce the highly-anticipated release of West Coast Seattle Boy - The Jimi Hendrix Anthology, featuring more than four hours of rare and previously unreleased Jimi Hendrix music on a 5 Disc (4 CD/1 DVD) deluxe box set, available Tuesday, November 16.

The long-awaited career-spanning box set tracks Hendrix's remarkable journey from little known R&B sideman to international stardom through an unprecedented assemblage of previously unavailable recordings. West Coast Seattle Boy - The Jimi Hendrix Anthology is not a collection of existing Jimi Hendrix albums but instead 45 unreleased Jimi Hendrix live and studio recordings including demos and alternate versions of songs from Are You Experienced, Axis: Bold As Love, and Electric Ladyland. West Coast Seattle Boy includes Hendrix's never before heard version of Bob Dylan's 'Tears Of Rage," solo acoustic recordings of Electric Ladyland favorites like "Long Hot Summer Night" and "1983 (A Merman I Shall Turn To Be)" as well as never before heard live performances from Berkeley and the legendary Band Of Gypsys Fillmore East concert on New Year"s Eve 1969 combined together with such new Hendrix songs as "Hear My Freedom," "Hound Dog Blues," "Lonely Avenue" and more.

An essential and historic addition to the Jimi Hendrix catalog, West Coast Seattle Boy - The Jimi Hendrix Anthology brings together, for the first time, many of Hendrix's earliest commercial recordings, providing a rare glimpse of the rising rock guitar hero through a series of stellar sideman performances on a set of highly collectible pre-Experience R&B singles. Included on Disc One of West Coast Seattle Boy are:

   1. Isley Brothers - Testify (1964)
   2. Don Covay & the Goodtimers - Mercy, Mercy (1964 - #1 Cashbox R&B - #35 Billboard Hot 100)
   3. Don Covay & the Goodtimers - Can't Stay Away (1964)
   4. Rosa Lee Brooks - My Diary (1965 - written by Arthur Lee)
   5. Rosa Lee Brooks - Utee (1965)
   6. Little Richard - I Don't Know What You Got But It's Got Me (1965)
   7. Little Richard - Dancing All Around The World (1965)
   8. Frank Howard & The Commanders - I'm So Glad (1966 - written by Billy Cox)
   9. Isley Brothers - Move Over And Let Me Dance (1965)
  10. Isley Brothers - Have You Ever Been Disappointed (1965)
  11. Ray Sharpe - Help Me (Get The Feeling) (Part I) (1966)
  12. The Icemen - (My Girl) She's A Fox (1966)
  13. Jimmy Norman - That Little Old Groovemaker (1966)
  14. Billy Lamont - Sweet Thang (1968)
  15. King Curtis - Instant Groove (1969)

Disc Two of West Coast Seattle Boy - The Jimi Hendrix Anthology focuses on 1967-68 and Hendrix's breakout sessions with the Jimi Hendrix Experience:

   1. Fire (1967) - Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
   2. Are You Experienced (1967) - Previously Unreleased Recording
   3. May This Be Love (1967) - Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
   4. Can You See Me (1967) - Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
   5. Love Or Confusion (1967) - Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
   6. Little One (1967) - Previously Unreleased Recording (featuring Dave Mason on sitar)
   7. Mr. Bad Luck (1967) - Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
   8. Cat Talking To Me (1967) - Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
   9. Castles Made Of Sand (1967) - Previously Unreleased Recording
  10. Tears Of Rage (1968) - Previously Unreleased Recording
  11. Hear My Train A Comin' (1968) - Previously Unreleased Recording
  12. 1983 (A Merman I Shall Turn To Be) (1968) - Previously Unreleased Recording
  13. Long Hot Summer Night (1968) - Previously Unreleased Recording
  14. My Friend (1968) - Previously Unreleased Recording
  15. Angel (1968) - Previously Unreleased Recording
  16. Calling All The Devil's Children (1968) - Previously Unreleased Recording
  17. New Rising Sun (1968) - Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording

Disc Three of West Coast Seattle Boy - The Jimi Hendrix Anthology revisits 1968-1969, both a peak and pivotal period for Hendrix in which the artist was exploring bold new directions on stage and in the studio:

   1. Hear My Freedom (1968) - Previously Unreleased Recording
   2. Room Full Of Mirrors (1969) - Previously Unreleased Recording
   3. Shame, Shame, Shame (1969) - Previously Unreleased Recording
   4. Messenger (1968) - Previously Unreleased Recording
   5. Hound Dog Blues (1969) - Previously Unreleased Recording
   6. Untitled Basic Track (1968) - Previously Unreleased Recording
   7. Star Spangled Banner (1969) - Previously Unreleased Original Mix
   8. Purple Haze (1969) - Previously Unreleased Original Mix
   9. Young/Hendrix (1969) - Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
  10. Mastermind (1969) - Previously Unreleased Recording
  11. Message To Love (1969) - Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
  12. Fire (1969) - Previously Unreleased Recording
  13. Foxey Lady (1969) - Previously Unreleased Recording

Opening with Hendrix's incendiary New Year's Eve performance of "Stone Free" at New York's Fillmore East on December 31, 1969 and closing with a previously unheard recording from Hendrix alone in his Greenwich Village apartment in 1970, Disc Four of West Coast Seattle Boy - The Jimi Hendrix Anthology provides a fascinating portrait of an artist at his fiery best, working on the future:

   1. Stone Free (1969) - Previously Unreleased Recording
   2. Burning Desire (1970) - Previously Unreleased Recording
   3. Lonely Avenue (1969) - Previously Unreleased Recording
   4. Everlasting First (1970) - Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording (featuring Arthur Lee)
   5. Freedom (1970) - Previously Unreleased Recording
   6. Peter Gunn/Catastrophe (1970) - Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
   7. In From The Storm (1970) - Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
   8. All God's Children (1970) - Previously Unreleased Recording
   9. Red House (1970) - Previously Unreleased Recording
  10. Play That Riff [Thank You] (1970) - Previously Unreleased Recording
  11. Bolero (1970) - Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
  12. Hey Baby (New Rising Sun) - Previously Unreleased Alternate Recording
  13. Suddenly November Morning (1970) - Previously Unreleased Recording

West Coast Seattle Boy - The Jimi Hendrix Anthology is the centerpiece of Legacy Recordings/Experience Hendrix LLC's second wave of Hendrix catalog releases. Also arriving on November 2 from the artist Rolling Stone magazine called "the greatest guitarist of all time" are deluxe editions of Jimi Hendrix Experience: BBC Sessions and Jimi Hendrix: Blues, his legendary Live At Woodstock performance, and Merry Christmas & A Happy New Year, the highly collectible Jimi Hendrix Christmas EP.

A single disc "Best Of" edition of West Coast Seattle Boy - The Jimi Hendrix Anthology will be available, with or without the Jimi Hendrix Voodoo Child DVD documentary. West Coast Seattle Boy - The Jimi Hendrix Anthology will also be available in a deluxe edition featuring 8 12" vinyl LPs.

Pre-Order Now

Until next time keep rockin' The 0800 Jukebox crew.

1 comment:

  1. SO PUMPED for this album! Definitely going to add WEST COAST SEATTLE BOY to my Jimi collection! I'm thinking about getting the box set from the site!


Let us know what you think.